HOME > About > Organization > Overview



The Hyper-Kamiokande proto-collaboration organization is guided by an international steering committee and an institutional board of representatives formed with members from 15 countries.
Through this organizational structure the Hyper-K collaboration works to lay plans for and to secure funding for the prompt realization of the experiment.

Hyper-Kamiokande Member States:
Armenia, Brazil, Canada, Ecuador, France, Italy, Japan, Korea, Poland, Russia, Spain, Switzerland, UK, Ukraine, USA.

Hyper-Kamiokande Governance Structure:

Project Leaders

Project leader: M. Shiozawa(ICRR, Japan)
Project co-leader: F. Di Lodovico (QM London, UK)

International Steering Committee

Charged with the management of the Hyper-Kamiokande project.

Chair: T. Nakaya (Kyoto, Japan)
D. Wark (STFC,RAL-PPD, UK), M. Nakahata (ICRR, Japan), T. Kobayashi (KEK, Japan), M. Shiozawa (ICRR, Japan), F. Di Lodovico (QM London,UK), M. Yokoyama (Tokyo, Japan), H. Aihara (Tokyo, Japan), A. Blondel (Geneva, Switzerland), G. Catanesi (INFN-Bari, Italy), E. Kearns (Boston, USA), J.M. Poutissou (TRIUMF, Canada), Soo-Bong Kim (Seoul, Korea), Y. Itow (Nagoya, Japan)

International Board Representative

Charged with collaboration governance, steering, and the promotion of funding requests internationally.

Chair: D. Wark (STFC,RAL-PPD, UK),
H. Nunokawa (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil),
S. Bhadra (York, Canada), A. Konaka (TRIUMF, Canada),
M. Gonin (Ecole Polytechnique, France), M. Zitto (Saclay, France),
M. G. Catanesi (INFN-Bari, Italy),
T. Kobayashi (KEK, Japan), T. Nakaya (Kyoto, Japan), M. Shiozawa (ICRR, Japan),
E. Rondio (NCBJ, Warsaw, Poland),
Y. Kudenko (INR, Russia),
L. Labarga (Madrid, Spain),
A. Blondel (Geneva, Switzerland),
F. Di Lodovico (QM London, UK),
E. Kearns (Boston, USA), M. Wilking (SUNY, USA),
M.Y. Pac(Dongshin, Korea),
Volodymyr Aushev (Kyiv, Ukraine),
H. Minakata (Yachay, Ecuador),
A. Ioannisian (Yerevan, Armenia)

Coveners Board

Coordinates the research and development of the hardware, software, and physics potential of the full experiment.

Project leader: M. Shiozawa(ICRR, Japan)
Project co-leader: F. Di Lodovico (QM London, UK)

WG1 (Cavity and Tank): S. Moriyama (ICRR, Japan), S. Nakayama (ICRR, Japan), H. Tanaka (ICRR, Japan), M. Smy (UCI, USA)
WG2 (Water): H. Sekiya (ICRR, Japan), M. Vagins (Kavli IPMU, Japan)
WG3 (Photosensors): , Y. Nishimura (ICRR, Japan), T. Fuesels (UBC, Canada), G. De Rosa (Napoli, Italy)
WG4 (Electronics and DAQ): Y. Hayato (ICRR, Japan), T. Lindner (TRIUMF, Canada), A. Bravar(Geneva, Switzerland)
WG5 (Software): M. Miura (ICRR, Japan), E. O’Sullivan (Duke, USA)
WG6 (Calibration): N. McCauley (Liverpool, UK), Y. Koshio (Okayama, Japan), S. Mine (UCI, USA)
WG7 (Near detectors): M. Hartz (Kavli IPMU, Japan), J.R. Wilson (QM London, UK)
WG8 (Beam and Accelerator): Y. Fujii (KEK, Japan)
Phys-WG (Physics): M. Yokoyama (Tokyo, Japan)
Phys-WG1 (Accelerator): M. Ishitsuka (TUS, Japan)
Phys-WG2 (Atmospheric neutrinos and Nucleon decays): R. Wendell (Kyoto, Japan)
Phys-WG3 (Astroparticle Physics): Y. Takeuchi (Kobe, Japan), I. Shimizu (Tohoku, Japan)
WG10 (2nd detector in Korea): Seon-Hee Seo (Seoul, Korea)